Change is never easy

Well it’s the end of week 1 of the new year and I have to say I’m pretty proud of myself. In the last five days I’ve gone to the gym four times, cooked three weight watchers approved recipes and stayed true to my resolution to get healthy.

That’s not to say that there weren’t a few times this week that I was tempt to skip the gym and opt for a nice nap after work. Not to mention the urge to eat ice cream every night after dinner, a feeling that I’m proud to say I gave into only twice.

All in all I think that I’ve done a good job this week. Sure it’s a small victory but it’s a victory nonetheless.

And really that is the hardest part of this whole thing – the change.

Whatever the change you’re trying to make, accepting your new normal. For me that means making peace with the fact that going out to eat isn’t something I can do as often anymore. Not only that but I can’t order that side of fries nearly as often anymore.

But with the acceptance of that comes the best part – the part where I get healthy, lose the weight and get back to being the person I want to be.

So every time I want to eat the extreme buttered popcorn I have to remember that I would so much rather fit into my size 6 jeans then for 30 minutes enjoy popcorn. And that when all I can think about is the call of my bed on the drive home, that is not a good reason to skip the gym – sleeping wasn’t going to get me back to my goal weight.

Whatever the change you’re trying to make, instead of focusing on the things you have to give up remind yourself of what you’re getting out of that sacrifice.

My mom always tells me “nothing ever tastes as good as skinny feels” and while that seems a little corny to me – she’s absolutely right.

In case you’re interested below are links to the recipes that I made this week, each one was super tasty and relatively easy to make.

Leave a Reply

